Private or Public?

ancestry

Last Friday night I decided to stay in and surf ancestry.com I stumbled upon a tree for my grandfather. To my surprise the owner of the tree had the same exact information I had on my tree for my grandfather, his siblings and some of his relatives. My first thought was, was the owner a relative of mine? The next thought was why didn’t the owner contact me? When I say the same information, I mean the owner even had my pictures, like a copy and paste tree. I am all for sharing, that’s why I leave my trees public, I want to contact with possible relatives. But I now understand why some folks make their trees private, why they don’t disclose everything detail about a relative or why some even put wrong information about a family member on purpose. When I find my ancestors or relatives in someone else’s tree, I reach out to the owner of that tree, most get back to me but a few don’t but I still reach out. Well I reached out and found out the owner of the tree is doing research for a number of people and the owner said one of the folks their researching for is possibly related to the people on my tree. This still makes me think, why didn’t the owner of the tree contact me to see what information or to see if it was accurate? Maybe the owner was and I just beat them to it or maybe the owner and or person whom they were researching for was satisfied with the information that was on my tree. I am wondering is there a thing as family tree etiquette? Even if your tree is public should someone have to ask you to add an ancestor or relative on their tree? Should they ask you to use your pictures? Is it free range since your tree is public? Since this little incident it has made me think twice about making my tree public on ancestry. I did the work in finding these documents, creating my tree and even adding pictures and someone takes what I did without a word is a little wrong to me.

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Private or Public?

  1. You have asked a lot of good questions regarding making a family tree private or public. We all have our own answers and act accordingly. I keep my tree private but welcome questions and will open my tree to people if needed. I however do not post pictures. I have freely given people pictures (and still do) only to find them all over ancestry.com after they posted them and were copied by many others. The same can be said for the pictures I have used in my blogs. I do not mind that so much but I would like to communicate with these people first to perhaps share information.

  2. taysway

    I think from now on I will keep my tree private and like you welcome questions and offer assistance.

  3. Sharing and communicating with others about our common ancestry is the purpose of my public online tree. Since there is very little communicating, plenty of retrieving of information, I plan to make my tree private by the beginning of the new year.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

