Research Road Trip: DNA Cousins

I decided to take a trip south while I had some time and on my way to Alabama I made a stop in Georgia and while I was there I reached out to three of my DNA cousins (discovered via ancestrydna). Garron, DeVan, and Octavia, I was so glad Garron and Octavia agreed to meet with me, DeVan and I actually met two years ago briefly but we stayed in touch. Garron, Octavia and Mia (my DNA cousin who I met in Birmingham) still don’t know our common ancestor(s). Garron and Octavia are on my maternal side while DeVan and Mia are on my paternal side, DeVan’s great grandfather and my great great grandfather were brothers. Mia and I have a couple surname names in common, Moorer and Snow, while Octavia and Garron share Camden, Wilcox County. Of course I would have loved to figured out how I was related to my other three DNA cousins but just meeting them was pretty cool, we bonded over our love for genealogy and getting to know our family. I didn’t have to grow up with them to consider them or call them my cousin.

14484654_10101041817915620_3911770893431477008_n

Garron, DeVan, Octavia and Mia

 

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

