The Snow Hill Normal and Industrial Institute

I stopped by to visit my Cousin Frank on my way to Baldwin County, Frank and I started talking about Wilcox County and he told me if I had time I should go visit the The Snow Hill Normal and Industrial Institute also known as the Colored Industrial and Literary Institute of Snow Hill. I even have relatives who attended the school, the historic African American  school in Snow Hill, Wilcox County, Alabama. Founded in 1893 by Dr. William J. Edwards (great-grandfather of film director Spike Lee). The Snow Hill Normal and Industrial Institute grew over time from a one room log cabin to 27 building, a staff of 35 and over 400 students. The school was operated as a private school for African American children until Dr. Edward’s retirement in 1924, when it became a public school operated by the State of Alabama. The school closed in 1973, after the desegregation of the Wilcox County  school system. Dr. Edwards is even buried on the property of the school, only a few building still remain today but it is still a site to see. I even have relatives who attended The Snow Hill Normal and Industrial Institute.

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

