Great Grandma Georgiana

42342_1521003238_0758-02760Ancestry.com. Pennsylvania, Death Certificates, 1906-1963 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2014.

I almost shed a tear last night when I found my great grandmother Georgiana Beck’s death certificate. I said a quick prayer and a few seconds later while searching on ancestry.com  I found her death certificate. I know all the information provided by the informant might not be accurate but I felt like I hit the jackpot. Of course I am left with more questions then answers now but oh my goodness. We don’t know much about my maternal grandmother’s mother and even less about her father so any information is a win to me.

I had no idea Georgiana died in Pennsylvania, I didn’t know the name of her father or she was even married. My grandmother was raised by grandmother Minnie in East Youngstown, Ohio. The information we have on my great grandparents is limited, over the years I have found a city directory  and two census records to place Georgiana in Jefferson County, Alabama and in East Youngstown, Ohio but no information connecting to my grandmother’s father James L. Christian. James L. Christian is the big mystery in our family, we don’t believe he was married to Georgiana and we believe there was a bit of an age difference between the two. Georgiana was about 15 or 16 when she had my grandmother in Jefferson county, Alabama. I was told James worked in the Steel Mills and had another child a daughter named Delores or Lois but I don’t know where he was from or his age. Recently my uncle told me he had heard James had property in Sharon, Pennsylvania, that’s not far from East Youngstown so on my next trip to Youngstown I’ll be visiting Sharon to see what I can find. I also found at 1926 East Youngstown city directory for Georgiana, I now have two more records to add to her file.

Categories: death certificate, Projects | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Great Grandma Georgiana

  1. Wow! I am concerned about the changes made to the certificate! Who did that, when and why? Perhaps contact the State of PA for their version.

    It appears that she was near/with her parents when she died. Where were her children/husband, in Youngstown?

    • taysway

      Thanks I didn’t think of that. I have no idea who and even where her husband was and her daughter, my grandmother lived with her grandmother in Youngstown.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

