Freedmen’s Colony 

Almost everywhere I travel, I try to take the opportunity to visit historical sites especially those sites related to African Americans. So my previous trip to the outer banks of North Carolina was no different. On Christmas Eve in the  afternoon, after doing the last bit of our Christmas shopping, my family and I visited the Fort Raleigh Historic Site located on Roanoke Island in the small town of Manteo. The best part of going to Fort Raleigh Historic site was seeing and hearing my seven year old nephew read out loud about the Freedmen’s colony. After he finished I asked him if he understood what he read and he said yes. I was glad we got the opportunity to visit Fort Raleigh, it’s important to share history with the younger generation. Lets continue to share our history! 

  

    


   

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Freedmen’s Colony 

  1. Would love to know how you find out about the places you visit–is there a guide or website that you particularly like?

    • taysway

      Most of the time I just use good old Google :), I search historic sites for whatever town or city I’m in and see what comes up.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

