Taking A Glimpse Into The Past With Indexing

I was so excited when the Freedmen’s Bureau Project was announced. There were 1.5 million Freedmen’s Bureau records just waiting to be indexed. I’ll admit I signed up in June and didn’t index a damn record (excuse my French) until last week. I decided to give it a try and I started with the Freedmen’s Bureau Education Records, 1865-1872. On the first few records I just focused on the information they wanted in order to submit my records (batch). I wasn’t really focused on any other information that the document actually contained. As I was indexing the other day I noticed on the Teacher’s Monthly School Report from 1870 how the much was on this document. The report provided information like the total enrollment of students for the month, how many were black, how many were white, how many students could spell and how many were advanced readers there were even questions about regarding the teachers race and how much they had been paid that month. On one report, teacher Sylvester Dillon stated why the thought there was a decline in student attendance, “the cause for the decline in school is giving that this being a busy time with farmers the children are needed to assist.” I don’t know why but I thought that was really cool when I reading his words, I could imagine him writing that note it’s like I was going back in time. I think it’s important for genealogist to index some records not only to assist in the process to make the records searchable but also to understand what information is available to us from these records. For more info on indexing visit https://familysearch.org/indexing/

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Taking A Glimpse Into The Past With Indexing

  1. They have a lot projects in different languages too. Since i speak spanish, 100% of the projects i work are in Spanish. Unfortunately there’re not many people out there that volunteer on these kind of project even if they speak another language. And it takes a while for them to be ready for the public to see them.

  2. Pingback: Published by MyRootsMyBlog: Taking A Glimpse Into The Past With Indexing | GraveSeeker's Diary

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

