Starting her off young

Young Genealogist

A few weeks ago my 11 year old niece expressed interest to me about taking her DNA, so I was more than willing to purchase an ancestryDNA kit for her once it went on sale :). My niece also told me she wanted to make a nice family tree, we setup a familysearch.org account and got to work. Her paternal side was basically done but I did’t know much about her maternal side to help input the information.  I told her to give her mother, grandparents, and great grandparents a call to get some the informations she needed.  There was no hesitation on her part, she picked up the phone and started dialing, I was impressed she was that interested in learning her history at a young age. I wish someone would have had me do this at her age. In a few weeks we’ll know her results and hopefully add more names to her family tree.

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Starting her off young

  1. Pingback: Published by MyRootsMyBlog: Starting her off young | GraveSeeker's Diary

  2. My granddaughter is the same way… and the same age! It never dawned on me to get her DNA tested. Thanks for the idea!!

    • taysway

      You’re welcome, I think it’s a great way to get the younger generation involved.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

