Family Skillet

photo(2)

I never thought to ask my mom where this black cast iron skillet came from until on our drive back from Virginia this past weekend. She told me the skillet was her mothers and it had to be at least 58 years old,  my mom even confirmed with her older sister, my Aunt Geri to make sure. In the mid 1950s my mom and her family migrated from Alabama to New York, so my grandmother Clittee had to buy new cookware because she left all her pots and pans behind in Alabama. When my parents got married in 1970 my mom asked my grandmother for the skillet because it cooked so well, and since then grandmother’s skillet has been in our household. My brother already put his bid to get the skillets but since there are a couple we can split I guess…

Categories: Projects | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Family Skillet

  1. What a wonderful relic! I wish I had my grandmother’s cast iron skillet and family recipes (cookbook), man she could burn with the best of ’em!

  2. taysway

    Thanks! They don’t make them like they used to.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

